June 19, 2024
SWOT Analysis of Delhi Capitals

SWOT Analysis of Delhi Capitals

78 / 100

SWOT Analysis of Delhi Capitals  

Formerly known as Delhi Daredevils, Delhi Capitals looks like one of the IPL’s most promising teams over the long term. Delhi has finally started to get the results in their favor after investing in youth after Rahul Dravid took charge in 2015. The trophy cabinet might still be bare but qualifying for the playoffs in 2019 is a symbol of their success for the first time in seven years. 

 Delhi Capitals Squad: 

Shreyas Iyer (C), Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Jason Roy, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Kagiso Rabada, Keemo Paul, Mohit Sharma, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, R Ashwin, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, Rishabh Pant, Alex Carey, Shimron Hetmyer, Tushar Deshpande.

Let’s discuss the SWOT analysis of Delhi Capitals.


Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer

Delhi Capitals have one of the tournament’s strongest Indian core; so much so that they can compete with an all-Indian lineup and continue to be a formidable force. The ideal mix of youth and experience, which was the missing link in their team, has now been added to the squad over the past few years with the likes of Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, and Ishant Sharma. 

Ashwin, Axar, Mishra, and Lamichhane form the spin department which is undoubtedly the best in the competition and facing them at home would be an uphill task for any opposition. 


Delhi Capitals join the tournament as a strong team with a formidable side on paper, with no noticeable weaknesses. Kagiso Rabada is the impressive star in the overseas fast bowling department along with the Indian Test pro Ishant Sharma.

Despite having Chris Woakes and Mohit Sharma as decent back-ups, there is no other name that stands out for DC as far as fast bowling is concerned. Avesh Khan has been impressive but has not been fully tested at the highest level. 

prime captain


Over the years, the Delhi-based IPL sides have been disappointing. Under Iyer, DC showed promise last season and the inclusion of a few talented players mentioned earlier along with the already-present superstars made them a force to be reckoned with. 

DC is one of the three teams that never won a single IPL championship, the other two being Kings XI Punjab and the Royal Challengers Bangalore. This year, they have a great opportunity to surmount this final barrier and win their first-ever IPL title. 


As mentioned earlier, there are no quality back-ups for Rabada and Ishant Sharma and hence injuries to them could be the only big challenge.

If Delhi can keep its composure in intense moments, then there’s no reason why they can’t be the Indian Premier League’s sixth new winner. 

SWOT Analysis of CSK.

I suggest Play IPL matches fantasy cricket with PrimeCaptain. Prime Captain is a growing fantasy sports platform in India where you can play Fantasy Cricket & other Fantasy Leagues online.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *