June 19, 2024
Delhi Capitals
66 / 100

IPL 2022 on 10-04-2022

The Delhi Capitals, despite ground size, scored a daunting 215 runs for 5 wickets and won the match against the Kolkata Knight Riders. The Riders posed a threat with Shreyas Iyer, Andre Russel and Pat Cummins, but the evening belonged to Kuldeep Yadav with an impressive 4/35. He was supported well by Khaleel Ahmed with 3/25 and Shardul Thakur with 2/30. The Riders crumbled with 171 all-out in 19.4 overs.

A smashing opening

Prithvi Shaw and David Warner played champions’ innings to set the Delhi Capitals up for a massive 44-run victory. The two scored 93 runs in just 8.4 overs before being helped by Rishabh Pant, Shardul Thakur and Axar Patel to take the score to an impressive 215 runs.

After a superior knock in the game against the Lucknow Super Giants, Shaw continued his domineering streak in the game against the Riders. After smashing the first ball of the innings for a four, Shaw hit another boundary behind square leg in the same over. Warner joined him when he scored a boundary in deep midwicket. Umesh Yadav, without much help from the surface, went short in his next over, getting Shaw on his helmet. The next ball was flicked for a four. Warner then scored successive fours off Pat Cummins. The team reached 50 in just 4 overs when Shaw hit a six.

Pant contributes

Shreyas handed the ball to Chakravarthy and Narine during the powerplay, but Warner did not let them settle. Shaw scored 50 in just 27 balls before losing his wicketto Chakravarthy. In came Pant, who continued where Shaw left and scored 24 in an over with Warner. This took the Capitals to 125 for 1 in just 11 overs. Warner hit Andre Russel for a six to reach 50 in 35 balls. Narine bowled well with 4-0-21-2 even though the other bowlers had rates that were much higher.

The Capitals were at 176 for 5 at 18 overs when Shardul and Axar hit three sixes and a four in the 19th over. In the end, the last two overs gave the Capitals 39 runs, taking the total to a mighty 215 for 5.

The final stretch

The Riders begin their innings with an appeal against their opener Rahane. The decision was reviewed and overturned. Venkatesh Iyer scored sixes on the other end but lost his wicket to Khaleel, who then also managed to get Rahane out in his next over. Rana and Shreyas kept the Capitals on their toes for a bit when they helped the Riders put up a score of 107 for 2 in the 12th over. Shreyas reached his 50 in 32 balls before he attempted a googly and lost his wicket.

Russel and Billings kept the Capitals on their toes for a while with Billings scoring boundaries before he was dismissed by Khaleel. Kuldeep Yadav bowled exceptionally when Cummins, Umesh and Narine lost their wickets to him in a single over. The last four overs saw the Riders’ required run-rate in a steep ascent that was tough even for Russel to accomplish. The Riders lost all their wickets at a score of 171.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *