June 19, 2024
DC vs RR
50 / 100

In the 56th match of the Indian Premier League at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi Capitals defeated Rajasthan Royals by 20 runs, with significant performances on both sides. Rajasthan’s skipper Sanju Samson won the toss and opted to bowl first, but Delhi’s Jake Fraser-McGurk went on a rampage, scoring a rapid half-century in just 19 balls. This explosive start helped Delhi Capitals reach 78-2 in the powerplay. Although Rajasthan’s bowlers recovered with a couple of early wickets, the Capitals still managed to post a formidable total.

Playing in place of an injured David Warner, Abishek Porel impressed with a 65-run innings, while Tristan Stubbs’ 41 off 20 balls contributed to Delhi’s final total of 221-8. Ravichandran Ashwin emerged as Rajasthan’s top bowler, taking three wickets while conceding just 24 runs. Yuzvendra Chahal achieved a significant milestone, becoming the first Indian bowler to claim 350 wickets in T20s.

Rajasthan Royals faced a daunting target of 222 runs. Their chase started poorly, with Yashasvi Jaiswal getting dismissed by Khaleel Ahmed in the first over. Axar Patel and Rasikh Salam further dented the Royals’ progress by dismissing Jos Buttler and Riyan Parag, respectively. However, captain Sanju Samson played a captain’s knock, scoring 86 off 46 balls to keep Rajasthan in the game. A contentious catch by Shai Hope saw Samson depart in the 15th over, leading to a turning point in the game.

Rovman Powell was left to carry on the chase, but Kuldeep Yadav’s game-changing 17th over, followed by Mukesh Kumar’s outstanding final over, sealed a win for the Capitals.

Key Highlights from DC vs RR in IPL 2024:

  • Delhi Capitals beat Rajasthan Royals by 20 runs.
  • Sanju Samson’s impressive 86 went in vain.
  • Delhi Capitals scored 221/8 in their 20 overs.
  • Yuzvendra Chahal became the first Indian bowler to claim 350 T20 wickets.
  • Jake Fraser-McGurk scored a 19-ball half-century.
  • Abishek Porel hit his first IPL half-century, scoring 65.
  • Ishant Sharma returned from injury to feature for Delhi.
  • Teams batting first have won all four matches at Arun Jaitley Stadium in IPL 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *